Tags

, , , , , , ,

An early morning walk around Hobart, Tasmania’s capital

Whilst in Hobart for work, I stayed at a lovely heritage hotel in the city which was only a short walk to the water.  Image 46The hotel was originally built by convict labour in 1834 and is said to be one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. It was such a lovely and elegant hotel with period furniture and the rooms with high ceilings and an old fashioned bed and cupboards but with modern touches like wifi and coffee and tea making facilities.

Image 49

Image 48

We arrived very late in the evening after a day working in Melbourne so I went straight to bed but the next morning I got up quite early and head out towards the water to Fisherman’s Dock.  This took about ten minutes and on the way I saw some lovely historic buildings which are very typical Hobart.

Image 40Image 42

At Fisherman’s Dock, it was lovely to see boats surrounded by old buildings and views out to sea.Image 20Image 21Image 24Image 23

Really lovely views so early in the morning! I walked past two big warehouses on the waterfront referred to as the Jam Factories…so I decided to do a bit of research to find out about their history…

Image 27

Summary from Wikepedia:

Henry Jones IXL was a company primarily known as a manufacturer of jams, conserves and sauces in Australia, established by Henry Jones in 1891. The brand is now owned and manufactured by SPC Ardmona, which has itself been owned by Coca-Cola Amatil since February 2005.    The IXL brand – ‘I excel in everything I do’ was Henry Jones’s personal motto.

Image 28

The building is now a dedicated art hotel after it was abandoned and languishing in neglect, until in 2004 architects revived the site which is now a five-star hotel.

I then walked around the dock for about forty-minutes taking in the views of the mountains with fog below, following which I returned to my hotel to get ready for my meetings in Hobart; walking past churches and more buildings.Image 29Image 44Image 36 A capital city I really must come back to – so much to do and see!!