Tags

, , , , ,

Five days in KensingtonImage 65After our stopover in Abu Dhabi, my brother, nephew and I made our way to London where I had booked an Airbnb opposite Kensington Gardens and Kensington Palace.Image 18The lower ground floor apartment where we stayed was recently renovated and spacious; great for a five day stay which meant every morning (before 5am due to me being awake early from jet lag) I would be out jogging either in Hyde Park or Kensington Gardens.  My first day was Hyde Park and it was lovely jogging along the well trodden pathway and just loving the fact I was in London.Image 99It was so lovely to see the English flowers, trees, ponds and cottages within the park…Image 90Image 91

There was also a little Rolls Royce car used for selling drinks, snacks and ice cream – very cute and to me – typically English.Image 97And something I remember growing up as a child in Wales; the deck chairs on the grass for either relaxing and/or sun baking …. unfortunately on this summer day in London it was not really warm enough for sun baking so not a person in sight.Image 93My usual routine at Kensington Gardens was to jog up past the carousel, around the pond and then head up to the Palace.Image 56Image 62Image 25Kensington Palace gardens are beautifully manicured and maintained and there was a special flower planted for the twentieth anniversary of Princess Diana’s passing.Image 49Image 37Image 32Image 57

 

There were also many flowers, birthday cards and poems left on the gates to the Palace for her birthday…Image 47I would then continue on with my jog and go past the lovely restaurant in the Palace grounds called The Orangery – I did return one day for afternoon tea but as I had not made a reservation I was only able to sit outside [without shade] and this day it was extremely hot in London [29 degrees] so I declined.Image 50Jogging then continues through the tunnels of trees and the gravel pathways past the Palace…Image 33Image 28Image 63And continuing along different pathways, along the river and under the bridge back home… Image 73Image 75Image 67What a way to start the day!!