Tags

, , , ,

Brunch with friends in Canberra

IMG_2679

Some months ago, I met a couple of friends at a local restaurant called ‘A. Baker’ in the Canberra suburb of Acton, which as its website says is short for ‘Acton Baker’.

Some other friends of mine had eaten dinner there previously so I wanted to see what the food was like.  We met for a late breakfast and I had full intention of buying some of the home made bread from the in-house baker.  Unfortunately I forgot which is a shame as the bread is supposed to be delicious…Next time!!

AB2

(source: http://www.goodfood.com.au)

The restaurant has an indoor and outdoor eating area and as the inside was a little noisy, we sat outside in the shade.

AB

(source: http://www.abaker.com.au)

IMG_2675_2

The menu is pretty extensive for breakfast/brunch but I did think there was not a great deal of vegetarian options.  My selection was the poached egg dish with artichokes and sourdough.  The eggs were nice as was the sourdough but the mushrooms I really didn’t like. Just not to my liking!!

IMG_2674_2

IMG_2676

All the produce served in the restaurant is obtained from local growers and producers in the Canberra district which is great for our Canberra locals. It’s another reason I wanted to try out the food.

But back to our meals, one friend ordered the trout dish with rye bread and beetroot.  She said it was delicious.  The food was very pleasantly presented on the plates along with little additions of plants like nasturtium.

IMG_2674_2_2

IMG_2677

And my other friend ordered a cheese board with three different types of Australian cheeses, some apple slices, walnuts and a little quince.  I actually thought the whole thing was a little basic looking; but my friends shared and said the cheeses were nice especially paired with the walnuts and apple.

IMG_2678

A Baker is a nice restaurant and the service was pretty good to start off with then as the restaurant got busy we were sort of left alone which was a shame as we wanted to order more tea and coffee…all in all it must be said that brunch is a nice way to catch up with friends.