Tags

, , ,

Dinner with friends at a local Canberra restaurant

IMG_2043

It was one of my friend’s birthday last week so I chose the Lanterne Rooms which opened in 2008 in one of the lovely leafy suburbs of Canberra.  I had heard wonderful things about the restaurant both about the service and especially the food.  I was not disappointed with either.  For my friend’s gift, I bought her a lovely smelling candle and matching reed diffuser…she was very happy even before we started eating and this friend is a huge ‘foodie’; she loves good food at nice restaurants.

IMG_2047

lr1

As soon as you walk in you feel like you are transported into a rustic Malaysian farmhouse; white washed walls, dark wood flooring, the blues and reds of South East Asian styled stained glass panels line the walls.

lr

The food has a Southeast Asian flavour; probably a little more Malay.  I ordered from the menu and my friends all ordered the tasting menu which meant they had about eight dishes each and I ordered two entrée and one main (which I ended up sharing with my friends as the meals were rather filling).

IMG_2046

I ordered the crispy tofu and eggplant with roasted tomatoes and black sesame dressing, the spiced cassava with mantau bread and the Shanghai rice noodles with vegetables and dark soy.  I had no idea what cassava was but was informed it is a root vegetable [and was delicious].

The Shanghai noodles were incredible…took me right back to China eating fresh noodles…so good to eat.  My friends all said their meals were absolutely delicious.  They started off with the cured kingfish and tomato salsa followed by tomato with grilled king mushroom and lime.

IMG_2050

 

IMG_2052This was followed by a palette cleansing sorbet then the Penang hawker style satay skewer and the slow braised beef cheek in an Asian herb broth (all said this dish was delicious).  Whilst the photo of the satay skewer does not look particularly appealing, my friends told me it was!!

IMG_2054 IMG_2056

And finally a dessert was served to my friends with a complimentary glass of sweet wine.  The dessert was two sorbet and a strange cube of jelly like substance; looked ok and said to be tasty, but I decided not to try it.

IMG_2057

A great night and I surely will return.