Tags

, , ,

A stay at the Excelsior Hotel with a boat trip to Lamma Island

IMG_0616

Sometimes to get relief from the pollution of Beijing, I would take a weekend trip down to Hong Kong and of course at the same time get my fix of shopping from Marks & Spencer and Vickie’s hand made shoes and handbags in Central (made for the lady with a larger shoe size).  It was always wonderful to see bright blue skies with white clouds – such a change from Beijing’s regularly polluted skies.

IMG_0527 IMG_0422 IMG_0437

My two hotels of choice in Hong Kong are the Upper House Hotel in Central (www.upperhouse.com) or The Excelsior in Causeway Bay which is a Mandarin Oriental Hotel.  On this particular weekend, I was celebrating my 50th birthday so I stayed in a suite at The Excelsior which was just lovely with a fabulous view of Victoria Harbour from my lounge and bedroom windows.

IMG_0607 IMG_0604

I had a spectacular view of Victoria Harbour both during the day and in the evening, but in particular the view was magnificant at sunset.

IMG_0429 IMG_0433 IMG_0425 IMG_0417

On one of the evenings a group of my friends and work colleagues caught the boat out to Lamma Island which is a traditional Chinese fishing village with wonderful seafood restaurants, craft stores, caves, temples and walking trails.  On this particular evening we had reserved a table at a renowned seafood restaurant on the water ‘Rainbow Restaurant’.  There was plenty of vegetarian options on the menu also for me.

IMG_0566 IMG_0565 IMG_0564

Our trip over from HK Island was lovely with spectacular views of the harbour and surrounding buildings.

IMG_0527 IMG_0534 IMG_0545 IMG_0538

I had organised a dinner party on the top floor of the Excelsior for my 50th birthday  (ToTTs & Roof Terrace) and two dear friends flew over from Australia and others came from Beijing, Guangzhou and Hong Kong.  It was a lovely night at the restaurant with spectacular views across the Harbour and at 8pm watching the Symphony of Lights light show.  Another one of my lovely friends made me a wonderful birthday cake of a ‘Manolo Blahnik’ opened shoe box and a little pink mule – incredible cake to look at and also delicious!! Very clever girl.

IMG_0516 IMG_0510 IMG_0506 IMG_0497

The next night, my friend from Australia and I took a tour on a ‘junk’ around the Harbour to see the Symphony of Lights up close.  The light show occurs every night and is synchronised with music played from the shoreline and lasts for just under fifteen minutes.  A great way to spend a couple of hours on the Harbour.IMG_0599 IMG_0582 IMG_0576 IMG_0575