A weekend away in Nanjing – Regalia Spa and Resort

IMG_4577

Midway through July 2012 I realised I was half way through my posting in Beijing so with only another eighteen months left I thought I needed a weekend away but this time at a resort and spa.  After a bit of internet searching and speaking to one of the ladies at the Embassy I found the Nanjing Regalia Resort and Spa which is located about fifteen minutes drive from the Nanjing fast train station (www.regalia.com.cn).

IMG_4586

As I had been to Nanjing previously and spent a weekend running around sightseeing, I knew a two day stay at a resort was exactly what I was after.  And I was not disappointed.  The resort was rather lovely and the rooms spacious with a canopy bed, huge bath, lovely French L’Occitane products and a pillow menu – and not as expensive as its sister hotel the Tangshan Resort, Nanjing.

IMG_4565IMG_4566

The resort has townhouses, suites and standard rooms overlooking the Qinghuai River and the 600 year old Nanjing City Wall.  My room had a great comfy bed and fabulous bath.

IMG_4581 IMG_4585

Whilst the river does not exactly remind me of my travels to Jiuzhaigou where the water is crystal clear and bright blue; this river is lovely to walk along and participate in some people-watching.

IMG_4569 IMG_4568 IMG_4567

Seeing the usual array of Chinese grandparents walking with their grandchildren, men walking with their shirts rolled up across their chests and, my favourite, the well-known ‘walking backwards’ morning exercise – all great sights.

IMG_0913

kids

rolled2

The hotel has a restaurant, the ‘Lotus Cafe’ which has a very good western breakfast and Chinese/Thai meals for lunch and dinner.  The vegetarian selection is not overwhelming but the home made custard tarts made up for that.  No English spoken but staff friendly and helpful.

tart

The whole of the resort has a Thai theme running through and offers Thai massages and facial for that ultimate resort experience.  However, be warned;  you are in China and just because the fabulous glossy pamphlet offers an extensive array of facials you may not receive one as on the day we went the staff were not trained in giving facial so I had to go without.  And it was very difficult trying to explain what I wanted as ‘facial’ and ‘massage’ are not words I know in Chinese and no-body spoke English.

Instead my friend and I took a taxi downtown and went into the local shopping centre and we bought a couple of masques which we applied ourselves when we returned to our rooms.

The grounds of the resort were quite beautiful and it was lovely to take a walk around; take a seat in one of the cabanas to relax and read a book.

IMG_4572 IMG_4570 IMG_4571 IMG_4578

I would highly recommend this resort as the rooms are lovely, clean and a great place just to relax and enjoy as weekend away.

IMG_4582 IMG_4584 IMG_4575 IMG_4573